Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu
Yachting New Zealand

Our team

See who works at Yachting New Zealand, as well as who is on the board and on each committee.


Management and administration

Position Name Contact Details
CEO  David Abercrombie
(09) 361 4024

National Sport Development Director Raynor Haagh
(09) 361 4021
Finance Manager Vanessa Hall
(09) 361 4026
Communications manager Michael Brown
021 677 618 / (09) 361 4025
Sponsor and HP coordinator Beth Orton
(09) 361 4020

Office administrator

Robyn Agnew
(09) 361 1471

Participation and development

Position Name Email
Programmes and services coordinator Colin Rickett
(09) 361 4028

Coach development manager Peter Soosalu
(09) 361 4027/ 021 037 2419

Safety and technical officer Angus Willison
CIOR administrator Alana Pooley
(09) 280 3985
NZCT regional development manager (Northern Region - North) Hayden Whitburn
027 210 2383

NZCT regional development manager (Northern Region - South) Kelly Mulcahy
021 202 2306
NZCT regional development manager (Central Region) Wayne Holdt
027 285 3796
NZCT regional development manager (Southern Region) Ian Gardiner
021 0293 9182

Olympic, high performance and talent development

Position Name Email
High performance director Ian Stewart
(09) 361 4800
Talent development manager Geoff Woolley
(09) 361 4029
High performance programme manager Peter Kadar
(09) 361 4023
Performance Technical Analyst (PTA) TBC


Youth and Events Manager Sam Mackay
(09) 361 4022
Development Coach Matt Thomas
Women's sailing manager TBC  
Olympic coach Nathan Handley
Olympic coach Mark Howard


The board are responsible for the governance of Yachting New Zealand, including the development of policy and strategy. The board are guided by Yachting New Zealand’s constitution, which can be viewed on the Yachting New Zealand documents webpage. 

Objectives of the board: The board members are volunteer trustees representing the interests of Yachting New Zealand’s stakeholders and are entrusted to ensure Yachting New Zealand is soundly managed.

The role of the board is one of governance rather than management. Governance focuses on Yachting New Zealand’s wider issues of organisational purpose, including the setting and monitoring of strategic direction and the establishment and monitoring of board-level policies. You can find more information about the individual Board members here.

  • Ross Blackman (president/chair)
  • Arabella Brawn
  • Murray Brown
  • John Butcher
  • Ian Cook
  • Jenny de Lisle
  • Sarah Meikle
  • Viki Moore
  • Bridget Winstone-Kight


Olympic committee

  • John Clinton (chair)
  • Grant Beck
  • Jan Dawson
  • Leslie Egnot
  • Andrew Knowles
  • Dave Mackay
  • Polly Powrie

Race officials committee

  • John Parrish (chair)
  • Ian Clouston 
  • Aaron Duncan
  • John Grace
  • Russell Green 
  • John Rountree
  • Jamie Sutherland

Committee for sailors with a disability

  • Dave Allerton (chair)
  • John Andrews
  • Tim Dempsey
  • Helena Horswell
  • Andrew May
  • Chris Sharp

Cruising, inshore and offshore racing committee

  • Logan Fraser
  • Anna Gibbs
  • Simon Hull
  • Simon Manning
  • Viki Moore
  • Mark Mulcare
  • David Roberts
  • Bob Still
  • Rob Shaw

Audit and Risk Committee

  • Jenny de Lisle (chair)
  • Ross Blackman
  • Murray Brown
  • John Butcher 

Governance and Remuneration Committee

  • Sarah Meikle (chair)
  • Ross Blackman
  • Arabella Brawn
  • John Butcher

Zhik ad

Zhik – Choice of champions

All champions start out somewhere. Zhik provides them with performance gear right from the get go, to help future champions sail their hardest and achieve their sailing dreams and goals. Zhik – Made for water.