Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu
Our team

Our team

See who works at Yachting New Zealand, as well as who is on the board and on each committee.

Staff 

Management and administration

Position Name Contact Details
CEO  David Abercrombie

dabercrombie@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4024

COO Andrew Clouston andrew@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4021
Accounting and HR manager Dianne Logan dianne@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4026
Communications manager Michael Brown michaelb@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4025

Admin services coordinator & HP admin support

Beth Orton beth@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4020
Membership and sponsor coordinator Monique de Sousa

monique@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 280 3985


Participation and development

Position Name Email
Programmes and services coordinator Danika Mowlem danika@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4028
Coach development manager TBC (09) 361 4027
Safety and technical officer Angus Willison angus@yachtingnz.org.nz
CIORC administrator Kelly Mulcahy kelly@yachtingnz.org.nz
NZCT regional support officer (Northern Region - North) Kim Admore kim@yachtingnz.org.nz
021 112 6737
NZCT regional support officer (Northern Region - South) Raynor Haagh raynor@yachtingnz.org.nz
021 577 422
NZCT regional support officer (Central Region) Wayne Holdt wayne@yachtingnz.org.nz
027 285 3796
NZCT regional support officer (Southern Region) Ian Gardiner iangardiner@yachtingnz.org.nz
021 0293 9182

Olympic, high performance and talent development

Position Name Email
High performance director Ian Stewart ianstewart@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4800
Talent development manager Geoff Woolley geoffwoolley@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4029
High performance programme manager Peter Kadar peter@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4023
Youth coordinator Stuart Thomas stuart@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4022
Youth head coach Matt Thomas matt@yachtingnz.org.nz
Olympic coach Nathan Handley nathan@yachtingnz.org.nz
Olympic coach Mark Howard mark@yachtingnz.org.nz

Board

The board are responsible for the governance of Yachting New Zealand, including the development of policy and strategy. The board are guided by Yachting New Zealand’s constitution, which can be viewed on the Yachting New Zealand documents webpage. 

Objectives of the board: The board members are volunteer trustees representing the interests of Yachting New Zealand’s stakeholders and are entrusted to ensure Yachting New Zealand is soundly managed.

The role of the board is one of governance rather than management. Governance focuses on Yachting New Zealand’s wider issues of organisational purpose, including the setting and monitoring of strategic direction and the establishment and monitoring of board-level policies. 

Committees

Olympic committee

  • Jan Dawson (chair)
  • Grant Beck
  • Andrew Knowles
  • Leslie Egnot
  • Dave Mackay
  • Polly Powrie
  • John Clinton

Race officials committee

  • John Parrish (chair)
  • Ian Clouston 
  • John Grace
  • Russell Green 
  • Ross May 
  • Jamie Sutherland
  • Ryan Parkin

Committee for sailors with a disability

  • Dave Allerton (chair)
  • John Andrews
  • Tim Dempsey
  • Helena Horswell
  • Andrew May
  • Chris Sharp
  • Brendan Tourelle

Cruising, inshore and offshore racing committee

  • Simon Hull
  • Simon Manning
  • Mark Mulcare
  • David Roberts
  • Bob Still
  • Rob Shaw
  • Damon Jollife

Audit committee

  • Jenny de Lisle (chair)
  • Greg Knowles
  • Murray Brown
  • Bridget Winstone-Kight

Zhik ad
Zhik

Zhik – Choice of champions

All champions start out somewhere. Zhik provides them with performance gear right from the get go, to help future champions sail their hardest and achieve their sailing dreams and goals. Zhik – Made for water.