Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu
Yachting New Zealand

Our team

See who works at Yachting New Zealand, as well as who is on the board and on each committee.

Staff 

Management and administration

Position Name Contact Details
CEO  David Abercrombie

dabercrombie@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4024

National Sport Development Director Raynor Haagh raynor@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4021
Finance Manager David Smith finance@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4026
Communications manager Michael Brown michaelb@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4025
021 677 618
Sponsor and High Performance coordinator Beth Orton beth@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4020

Office administrator

Robyn Agnew reception@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 1471


Participation and development

Position Name Email
Programmes and services coordinator Colin Rickett

colin@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4028

Coach development manager Peter Soosalu

peters@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4027
021 037 2419

Safety and technical officer Angus Willison angus@yachtingnz.org.nz
CIOR administrator Tash Fickling

ciorc@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 280 3985

NZCT regional development manager
(Northern Region - North)
Hayden Whitburn

hayden@yachtingnz.org.nz
027 210 2383

NZCT regional development manager
(Northern Region - South)
Kelly Mulcahy kellym@yachtingnz.org.nz
021 202 2306
NZCT regional development manager 
(Central Region)
Wayne Holdt wayne@yachtingnz.org.nz
027 285 3796
NZCT regional development manager
(Southern Region)
Ian Gardiner iangardiner@yachtingnz.org.nz
021 0293 9182

Olympic, high performance and talent development

Position Name Email
High performance director Ian Stewart ianstewart@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4800
Talent development manager Geoff Woolley geoffwoolley@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4029
High performance programme manager Hayley Dorward hayley@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4023
Youth and Events Manager Sam Mackay sam@yachtingnz.org.nz
(09) 361 4022
Development Coach Matt Thomas matt@yachtingnz.org.nz
Women's sailing manager
Laser Radial Program Manager
Jenny Armstrong jenny@yachtingnz.org.nz
Olympic coach Nathan Handley nathan@yachtingnz.org.nz
Olympic coach Mark Howard mark@yachtingnz.org.nz

Board

The board are responsible for the governance of Yachting New Zealand, including the development of policy and strategy. The board are guided by Yachting New Zealand’s constitution, which can be viewed on the Yachting New Zealand documents webpage. 

Objectives of the board: The board members are volunteer trustees representing the interests of Yachting New Zealand’s stakeholders and are entrusted to ensure Yachting New Zealand is soundly managed.

The role of the board is one of governance rather than management. Governance focuses on Yachting New Zealand’s wider issues of organisational purpose, including the setting and monitoring of strategic direction and the establishment and monitoring of board-level policies. You can find more information about the individual Board members here.

  • Ross Blackman (president/chair)
  • Arabella Brawn
  • Murray Brown
  • John Butcher
  • Jenny de Lisle
  • Sarah Meikle
  • Viki Moore
  • Bridget Winstone-Kight

Committees

Olympic and High Performane committee

  • John Clinton (chair)
  • Andy Maloney
  • Ashton Welsh
  • Grant Beck
  • Leslie Egnot
  • Dave Mackay

Race officials committee

  • John Parrish (chair)
  • Ian Clouston 
  • Aaron Duncan
  • John Grace
  • Russell Green 
  • John Rountree
  • Jamie Sutherland

Committee for sailors with a disability

  • Dave Allerton (chair)
  • John Andrews
  • Tim Dempsey
  • Helena Horswell
  • Andrew May
  • Chris Sharp

Cruising, inshore and offshore racing committee

  • Logan Fraser
  • Anna Gibbs
  • Simon Hull
  • Simon Manning
  • Viki Moore
  • Mark Mulcare
  • David Roberts
  • Bob Still
  • Rob Shaw

Audit and Risk Committee

  • Murray Brown (chair)
  • Jenny de Lisle
  • John Butcher 
  • Ross Blackman

Governance and Remuneration Committee

  • Sarah Meikle (chair)
  • Ross Blackman
  • Arabella Brawn
  • John Butcher