Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu
Roll of honour

Roll of honour

Yachting has a proud history in New Zealand, with multiple national, Olympic and world champions and others who have made an impact on the sport both here and abroad.

Olympic & Paralympic Games

Click here to see a full list of the New Zealand Olympic and Paralympic sailing teams since Peter Mander and Jack Cropp first represented New Zealand at the 1956 Olympic Games.

New Zealand has enjoyed multiple successes at the Olympic Games, here is a list of all the medallists.

National Champions

Each year Yachting New Zealand recognises the winner of national championships. Click here to see the list of national champions for the 2018/19 season. 

List of previous National Champions

Yachting Excellence Awards

The annual Yachting Excellence Awards are one of the highlights on the calendar and recognise success and achievement from the grassroots to high performance, with the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy the premier award for sailor of the year.

Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy for Sailor of the Year 

  • 2018 Daryl Wislang and Stu Bannatyne (Dongfeng Race Team); and Honda Marine
  • 2017 Emirates Team New Zealand
  • 2016 Peter Burling & Blair Tuke
  • 2015 Peter Burling & Blair Tuke
  • 2014 Peter Burling & Blair Tuke

Young Sailor of the Year 

  • 2018 Josh Armit
  • 2017 Kate & Greta Stewart
  • 2016 George Gautrey
  • 2015 Jackson Keon and Nick Egnot-Johnson

Coach of the Year 

  • 2018 NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team Coaches (Matt Thomas, Geoff Woolley and Kate Ellingham)
  • 2017 Murray Jones & Ray Davies
  • 2016 David Slyfield
  • 2015 Hamish Willcox

Official of the Year 

  • 2018 Gerald Flynn
  • 2017 Doug Elder
  • 2016 John Parrish
  • 2015 Megan Kensington

Emerging Talent of the Year 

  • 2018 Veerle ten Have
  • 2017 Seb Menzies
  • 2016 Eli Liefting & Rose Dickson
  • 2015 Josh Armit & Sam Bacon

Service Award  

Year Awardees Awardees Club
2018 Amanda Michel Wakatere Boating Club
2018 Trevor Knowles Motueka Yacht & Cruising Club
2018 Ron & Anne Finch Waimakariri Sailing Club
2018 Rob & Anne Daniel Lake Mahinapua Aquatic Club
2018 Graham Ashford Pohara Boat Club
2018 Richie Williams Bucklands Beach Yacht Club
2018 Dennis Win Nelson Yacht Club
2018 Keith Fraser  Heretaunga Boating Club
2018 Brian Taylor Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron
2018 Jill Metz-Mayhead & Adrian Mayhead Wairoa Yacht Club

Youth Performance Awards 

Year Awardees Details 
2018 Josh Armit  1st Youth Sailing Youth World Championships 2018 (Laser Radial)
2018 Fran Kayrouz & Jackson Keon 1st 29er World Championships 2018
2018 Crystal Sun & Olivia Hobbs 1st 29er World Championships 2018
2018 Sebastian Lardies & Scott McKenzie 2nd Youth Sailing World Championships 2018
2018 Veerle ten Have 2nd Youth Sailing World Championships 2018 (RS:X)
2018 Seb Menzies & Blake McGlashan 1st 420 World Championships 2018
2018 Greta Stewart & Tom Fyfe 3rd Youth Sailing World Championships 2018 (Nacra 15)

Performance Awards

Year Awardees Details 
2018 Stu Bannatyne 1st Volvo Ocean Race (Dongfeng)
2018 Daryl Wislang 1st Volvo Ocean Race (Dongfeng)
2018 Anthony Leighs 1st yacht under 40 feet to finish 2017 Fastnet
2018 Sam Meech No 1-ranked Laser sailor
2018 Logan Dunning Beck & Oscar Gunn 49er sailors
2018 Josh Porebski, Jack Simpson & David Hazzard 2nd JJ Giltinan Trophy

David McDiarmid, Matt
Steven & Bradley Collins

1st JJ Giltinan Trophy

2018 Phil Robertson, William Tiller
& Stewart Dodson
1st M32 World Championships

Cruising Award 

  • 2018 Malcolm & Joan Dickson
  • 2017 Emily Riley 
  • 2016 Simon Willis 
  • 2015 No Cruising Award bestowed this year 

Presidents Award 

  • 2018 Graham Cattley
  • 2017 Torbay Sailing club, Board of Directors, Emirates Team New Zealand 
  • 2016 Tauranga Yatch & Powerboat Club for Outstanding Sailing Programmes 
  • 2015 Queen Charlotte Yatch Club for the Interislander Optimist Regatta 


Orbit ad

Let us take you on holiday

YNZ members can access the best holidays deals with Orbit World Travel. Our team of leisure experts can design your ultimate holiday getaway. Not sure when you’re travelling next? Sign up for holiday deals on our website