Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu
NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team 2020

NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team

The Youth Sailing World Championships

New Zealand has a proud history of success at the Youth Sailing World Championships, having won a total of 55 medals including 17 gold, 20 silver and 18 bronze dating back to the first event in Sweden 1971. The 2018 team won a record-equalling four medals in Corpus Christi.

Past notable winners include America's Cup skippers, Olympic medallists and Volvo Ocean Race sailors including Alex Maloney, Blair Tuke, Chris Dickson, Russell Coutts, Dean Barker and Stuart Bannatyne.

The team are proudly supported by the NZL Sailing Foundation (previously known as the NZL Yachting Trust), Oceanbridge, Zhik and HPSNZ.

Youth team selection and trials for the NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team to attend the Youth Sailing World Championships is reviewed annually.

Results and information about the 2020 New Zealand Youth Championship can be found here 

The regulation sets out the criteria and procedure for selecting sailors to be part of the NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team and will be publicly notified through the Briefings newsletter when published. The current NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team selection regulation for 2021 is being finalised. Once it is published, it will be found on the Information for sailors page.



The 2020 Youth Sailing World Championships has been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. A team has been selected to train domestically following the NZL Sailing Foundation New Zealand Youth Championships.

2020 NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team
Laser Radial W - Greta Pilkington (Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron)
Laser Radial M - Caleb Armit (MBSC)
Windfoiling - Eli Liefting (RAYC)
29er M - Blake McGlashan (MBSC) / Jack Frewin (Howick SC)
29er W - Lucy Leith (MBSC) / Liz Shapland (MBSC)
420 W - Amelia Angus (KYC & MBSC) / Rebecca Hume (MBSC)
420 M - Mason Mulcahy (Murrays bay sailing Club)/ Cam McGlashan (MBSC)
Nacra 15 - Sofia Higgott (Maraetai SC) / Hamish McLaren (RAYC)

The 2021 edition of the Youth Worlds will take place in The Hague, The Netherlands in July 2021.

The 2019 Youth Sailing World Championships were held in Gdynia, Poland on July 13-20. You can read the final update here.


When the next NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team is announced the sailor profiles will be available below.     

No results match your search criteria.