Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu
NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team

NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team

The Youth Sailing World Championships

New Zealand has a proud history of success at the Youth Sailing World Championships, having won a total of 55 medals including 17 gold, 20 silver and 18 bronze dating back to the first event in Sweden 1971. The 2018 team won a record-equalling four medals in Corpus Christi.

Past notable winners include America's Cup skippers, Olympic medallists and Volvo Ocean Race sailors including Alex Maloney, Blair Tuke, Chris Dickson, Russell Coutts, Dean Barker and Stuart Bannatyne.

The team are proudly supported by the NZL Sailing Foundation (previously known as the NZL Yachting Trust), Oceanbridge, Zhik and HPSNZ.


The 2020 Youth Sailing World Championships has been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
The 2021 edition of the Youth Worlds will take place in The Hague, The Netherlands in July 2021.


The 2019 Youth Sailing World Championships were held in Gdynia, Poland on July 13-20. You can read the final update here.


Gold  Seb Menzies / Blake McGlashan,420 M
6th    Helena Sanderson / Jack Honey,Nacra
9th    Samantha Stock, Laser Radial W
14th   Eli Liefting / Jack Frewin, 29er M
15th   Luke Cashmore, Laser Radial M
23rd   Sydney Cunliffe / Rebecca Hume,420 W
25th   Sophia Fyfe / Holly Liefting, 29er W 


Sailor profiles of the 2020 team will be displayed below once they have been selected.

No results match your search criteria.