Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu

Te Ākautangi Matariki Water Sports Festival

The Te Ākautangi Matariki Water Sports Festival is an event jointly run by Tai Tonga 41 Outrigger Canoe Club and Evans Bay Yacht & Motor Boat Club.
It will include the Ngá Mata o Te Ariki, Táwhirimátea Marathon; Ngá Tai Tùátea-a Tara Race; Matariki Classic; and EBYMBC Yachting Regatta

The annual EBYMBC regatta will be run over three days from 24-26 June (Matariki Weekend).

The programme includes racing from Dinghies, Multihulls, Trailer Yachts & Keelboats.

It will include round the buoys and harbour course (for the bigger boats) racing on Friday, The Matariki Classic on Saturday and then back to traditional racing on Sunday.

The Matariki Classic is an adaptation of an event previously run by the Horowhenua Sailing Club during the 1980s and 90s called Frostbusters.

The event will involve all participants completing a lap course with a time limit of three hours.  The line honours winner will be the vessel to complete the most laps in the time allowed.  A time correction factor will be applied to all vessels to award an overall champion.

Regatta type:
Fleet Racing
Event date:
This event is inclusive of sailors with a disability.
Contact name:
Rowdy Leatham
Contact email: