Safety Regulations

Yachting New Zealand’s safety regulations have been established to prevent manageable emergency situations turning into full-scale disaster by ensuring that yachties are properly equipped to cope.

Racing Safety Categories

Yacht races are classified as either Category 5, 4, 3, 2 or 1 in the Sailing Instructions or Notices of Race.

Category 4 or 5 is, in general, "round the bouys" type or short course racing in sheltered or warm waters. Compliance is self regulated and requires only a skippers declaration. Skippers should be aware that in the event of a spot check, failure to comply may result in disqualification. Category 3, 2 or 1 classifications refer to offshore and ocean races with different categories specified depending on the distance, duration and location of the race. Skippers must be able to present a current Safety Inspection Certificate seven days prior to the start of a Category 3, 2 or 1 race.

Category 1 Safety Certificates are also required by yachts leaving New Zealand on ocean or open water passages. Yachts also need to be registered on the Maritime New Zealand Register of Ships, see the Maritime New Zealand website. 


The Yachting New Zealand Safety Regulations of Sailing 2017-2020

These regualations come into effect on 1 January 2017. The regulations are available for purchase from the Yachting New Zealand Shop. The regulations can also be viewed electronically by clicking here.

YNZ Safety Regulations of Sailing Part 1:

Regulation for Unballasted Centreboards & Open Yachts, Sailboards and Ballasted Yachts are found in the Yachting New Zealand Racing Rules of Sailing. The 2017-2020 regulations are available for download by clicking here.

Advanced Sea Survival Training

Yachting New Zealand approved Advanced Sea Survival training courses meeting World Sailing and Australian Sailing requirements are provided nationwide through the following Yachting New Zealand Members:

For more information on training and providers click here.