Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu
Excellence Awards

Yachting Excellence Awards winners announced

Issue date

Club stalwarts through to world champions and America's Cup winners have been recognised in the first batch of recipients for the 2021 Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards.

The judges met last week to consider the nominations for this year's awards and were thrilled with the quality of nominations despite a lack of international activity.

The winners of the major awards including the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy for the Orbit World Travel Sailor of the Year, won last year by Josh Junior, will be announced at a gala dinner at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Club on November 12, Covid permitting.

The awards recognise achievements taking place from September 1, 2020 until August 31, 2021. They are also a great chance to recognise the achievements and work done behind the scenes by sailors, volunteers and organisations in the Service Awards. 

"I have been a judge for some time now and it always amazes me the quality of people we have in our sport at all levels, from those who give up so much of their time to help others right through to our top high performance sailors," judge and yachting commentator Peter Lester said.

"There might not have been as many international regattas due to the impact of Covid-19 but we still had some very robust discussions to try to narrow down the winners. Congratulations to everyone who was nominated, and especially the winners."

Tickets for the gala dinner on November 12 are on sale and can be purchased here.

2021 Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards

Service Awards supported by Boating New Zealand

David Austin (Yachting New Zealand)
Richard Brown (Murrays Bay Sailing Club)
Doug France (Kerikeri Cruising Club)
Gary Hill and Ian Young (Windfoil New Zealand, Wakatere Boating Club)
Wayne Huang (Bucklands Beach Yacht Club)
Wayne Keen (Naval Point Club Lyttelton)
Jonathan Kline (Mercury Bay Boating Club)
Anna Leslie (Macandrew Bay Boating Club)
Jamie Sutherland (New Plymouth Yacht Club)
Brendan Tourelle (Sailability Auckland, NZ Hansa Class Association)
Brian Trubovich (Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron)

Cruising Awards supported by Wichard on Safety at Sea

Andrew Ventura

Youth Performance Awards supported by Harken

Amelia Angus & Carrington Brady (Wakatere Boating Club)
Caleb Armit (Murrays Bay Sailing Club)
Brayden Hamilton & Seb Menzies (Wakatere Boating Club & Murrays Bay Sailing Club)
Sean Herbert (Manly Sailing Club)
Rebecca Hume (Murrays Bay Sailing Club)
Lucy Leith & Lizzie Shapland (Murrays Bay Sailing Club)
Blake McGlashan & Jack Frewin (Murrays Bay Sailing Club & Howick Sailing Club)
Mason Mulcahy & Cam McGlashan (Murrays Bay Sailing Club)
Greta Pilkington (Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron)

Yachting New Zealand Performance Awards

Jo Aleh (Takapuna Boating Club)
Peter Burling & Blair Tuke (RNZYS, RAYC, Tauranga Yacht & Power Boat Club, Kerikeri Cruising Club)
Erica Dawson (Murrays Bay Sailing Club, RAYC)
Emirates Team New Zealand (Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron)
Alastair Gifford, Max South, Frankie Dair (Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron)
Josh Junior (RNZYS, RAYC, Worser Bay Boating Cub, Weiti Boating Club)
Knots Racing - Nick Egnot Johnson, Zak Merton, Sam Barnett, Bradley McLaughlin (Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron)
Liv Mackay (Napier Sailing Club)
Andy Maloney (RNZYS, RAYC, Murrays Bay Sailing Club)
Sam Meech (Tauranga Yacht & Power Boat Club)
Paul Snow-Hansen and Daniel Willcox (Wakatere Boating Club and Murrays Bay Sailing Club)
Lukas Walton-Keim (Takapuna Boating Club