Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu
Seb Menzies and Blake McGlashan

Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards winners announced

Issue date

World champions and major regatta winners and medallists headline the initial list of recipients at the 2019 Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards, which also recognise individuals for their outstanding service to sailing in this country.

It has been another very successful last 12 months for New Zealand's sailors on the world stage and the winners of excellence awards will be recognised at a gala dinner at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron on November 8.

Last year joint winners took out the prestigious Orbit World Travel Sailor of the Year Trophy: Volvo Ocean Race winners Daryl Wislang and Stu Bannatyne of the Dongfeng Race Team as well as Honda Marine (David McDiarmid, Matt Steven and Bradley Collins) who became the first New Zealanders to win the JJ Giltinan Trophy for 44 years.

There will be plenty of competition for the top awards this year, which will be named on the night, with multiple world champions and medallists and major regatta winners among the list of performance awards winners.

It was another good year at youth level, with a number of notable performances at world events, and six sailors or crews who will receive Youth Performance Awards. 

The service awards largely acknowledge people who don’t seek the limelight and this year 11 recipients from Dunedin to Auckland will be regonised for their hard work at their respective clubs.  

There are three new awards this year - Young Leadership Award, Sportsmanship Award and the Sustainability Award - and the winners will be announced on the night. 

The following categories will be recognised at the awards dinner on November 8:

  • Orbit World Travel Sailor of the Year Award for the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy
  • Volvo Young Sailor of the Year Award
  • Zhik Official of the Year
  • Aon Emerging Talent Award
  • Lawson's Dry Hills President's Award
  • Lucke Young Leader Award (new)
  • North Sails Sportsmanship Award (new)
  • Propspeed Sustainability Award (new)

Tickets to the dinner can be purchase here or for more information contact Monique de Sousa on

Excellence Awards

2019 Volvo Yachting Excellence Award winners

Service Awards supported by Boating New Zealand Magazine

  • Alastair Burgess, Jocelyn Humphreys & Nigel Humphreys - Pleasant Point Yacht Club
  • Paddy Charles - French Bay Yacht Club
  • Marc Frewin - Howick Sailing Club
  • Chantal Grass - Panmure Lagoon Sailing Club
  • Vern Hall - Otago Yacht Club
  • Colin Lock - Naval Point Club Lyttelton
  • Johnny Malthus & Simon Novak - Worser Bay Boating Cub
  • Simon Probert - Wakatere Boating Club
  • Fiona Rist - Manly Sailing Club
  • Richard Wingfield - Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron
  • Peter Withall - Pigeon Bay Boating Club

Youth Performance supported by Harken

  • Brayden Hamilton & Pat Morgan - Wakatere Boating Club, Kohimarama Yacht Club
  • Blake Hinsley & Nicholas Drummond - Bucklands Beach Yacht Club
  • Ted Houry - Bay of Islands Yacht Club
  • Seb Menzies & Blake McGlashan - Murrays Bay Sailing Club
  • Helena Sanderson & Jack Honey - Bay of Islands Yacht Club
  • Vento Racing (Jordan Stevenson, Mitch Jackson, George Angus, Jake Erson) - Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron

Performance Awards supported by Zhik

  • Peter Burling and Blair Tuke - Royal Akarana Yacht Club
  • Logan Dunning Beck & Oscar Gunn - Wakatere Boating Club, Murrays Bay Sailing Club
  • George Gautrey - Muritai Yacht Club
  • Knots Racing (Nick Egnot-Johnson, Sam Barnett, Bradley McLaughlin, Zak Merton & Tim Snedden) - Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron
  • David McDiarmid, Matt Steven & Bradley Collins - Royal Akarana Yacht Club
  • Alex Maloney & Molly Meech - Royal Akarana Yacht Club
  • Andy Maloney - Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron
  • Sam Meech - Tauranga Yacht & Power Boat Club
  • Phil Robertson - Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron
  • Dave Shaw - Nelson Yacht Club
  • Dan Slater - Wakatere Boating Club

Cruising Award supported by Wichard by Kiwi Yachting

  • Sara & Josh Tucker - Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron

Pic: Seb Menzies and Blake McGlashan will collect a Youth Performance Award on the back of their win in the boy's 420 at the youth sailing world championships. Photo: Sailing Energy / World Sailing.

Sponsor Strip Final