Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu
Honda Marine

Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards Nominations

Issue date

Nominations for the Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards are now open.


Other nations often look enviously at New Zealand and the quality of sailors this country produces.

It doesn't come about by accident and the Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards are a great opportunity to recognise the achievements and work done behind the scenes by sailors, volunteers and organisations. It's also an opportunity to show our appreciation for their contributions to our sport.

It's been another terrific year for yachting in this country and nominations are now open for the 2019 Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards. The awards will recognise achievements taking place from September 1, 2018 until August 31, 2019.

We've added three new categories this year, namely the Young Leadership Award, Sportsmanship Award and Sustainability Award. The criteria for these new awards, and the others that nominations are being called for, can be found under regulations.

Nominations can be made by any Yachting New Zealand affiliated yacht club or member, or affiliated class association on or before August 31, 2019.

Awards will be presented at the 2019 Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards, to be held on Friday, November 8 at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron.

The gala evening will culminate in the announcement of the winner of the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy for Sailor of the Year, which last year was jointly won by the crew from Honda Marine who made history by winning the JJ Giltinan Trophy and Daryl Wislang and Stu Bannatyne of the Dongfeng Race Team.

Click here to view the regulations and criteria for each award

Click here to nominate someone for an award


  • Yachting New Zealand Performance Award
  • Yachting New Zealand Youth Performance Award
  • Coach of the Year
  • Official of the Year
  • Yachting New Zealand Service Award
  • Yachting New Zealand Cruising Award
  • President's Award
  • Young Leadership Award
  • Sportsmanship Award
  • Sustainability Award

Pic: Honda Marine became the first New Zealand crew to win the coveted JJ Giltinan Trophy in 44 years in 2018. Photo: Live Sail Die.