Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu

Title goes on the line at VMG eSailing Challenge

Issue date

Matt Blakely is back to defend his title in Sunday's final of the VMG New Zealand eSailing Challenge, when a place in the New Zealand side to take on the Aussies is also up for grabs.

Blakey won last year's final by one point over Aidan Gordon, who has also qualified for this year's final, and the pair played a leading hand in New Zealand claiming the honours in the Trans-Tasman eSailing Championships. The top six sailors in this weekend's New Zealand final will qualify to tackle the Aussies.

The winner of the VMG New Zealand eSailing Challenge will win a $500 VMG voucher for themselves as well as a $500 VMG voucher for their club. A $1000 VMG voucher is also up for grabs for the winning team in the VMG Trans-Tasman eSailing Championships.

You can follow the action for both the VMG New Zealand eSailing Challenge and VMG Trans-Tasman eSailing Championships, with both live streamed on the Yachting New Zealand Facebook page. The New Zealand final starts at 7pm on Sunday and the trans-Tasman challenge at 8pm on August 7.

Yachting commentator Jesse Tuke will host both live streams.

Finalists for Sunday's VMG New Zealand eSailing Challenge (7pm):

Matt Blakey (Tamaki Yacht Club)
Sammy Evans (Tutukaka Coast Youth Sailing Club)
Jack Fransen (Queen Charlotte Yacht Club)
Nick Gardiner (SSANZ)
Aidan Gordan (Wakatipu Yacht Club)

Riley Hunter (Northcote Birkenhead Yacht Club)
Jake Millar (Gisborne Yacht Club)
Lucy Millar (Gisborne Yacht Club)
Justin Mitchell (Wakatere Boating Club) 

Flinn Olson (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) 
Tom Pilkington (Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron)
Jordan Vermeulen (Bluff Yacht Club)