Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu

List of national champions for 2018/19 season

Issue date

The 2018/19 racing season is coming to a close and most of the national champions in their respective classes have been found.

Yachting New Zealand recognise the following sailors as the national champion of each class/national championship event for the 2018/2019 season. Congratulations to all.

420 (overall and male): Seb Menzies & Blake McGlashan
420 (female): Matilda Richardson & Lily Richardson (AUS)
470: Paul Snow-Hansen & Dan Willcox
49er: Logan Dunning-Beck & Oscar Gunn
49er FX: Alex Maloney & Molly Meech
A Class: Dave Shaw
Elliot 5.9 (2018): Craig Satterthwaite, Richard Bearda & Matt Kelway
Elliot 5.9 (2019): Craig Satterthwaite, Richard Bearda & Matt Mitchell
Etchells: Anatole Masfen and crew
Europe (overall): Antje Muller
Europe (male): Johann Tammen
Finn: Karl Purdie
Flying Dutchman: Andrew McKee & David Hislop
Flying Fifteen: Hayden Percy & Scott Pedersen
Hansa 303: Paulien Chamberlain
Hansa 303 Double: Caleb Evans & Alistair Eagleson
Hansa Liberty: Tony Vaka
Hartley 16: Robin Williams & Mike Insley
International Moth: Isaac McHardie
Javelin: Peter Precey & Hamish Hey
Jolly Boat: Hamish Hall-Smith
Kite Foil: Sam Bullock
Laser: Thomas Saunders
Laser 4.7: Daniel Brodie
Laser Radial (overall and male): Harrison Baker
Laser Radial (female): Olivia Christie
Noelex 22: Tristin Ornsby, Dan Meehan & Ben Ornsby
Noelex 25: Bob Coultas
NZ National Match Racing: Josh Junior, Sam Meech, Jason Saunders, Josh Porebski
NZ Womens Match Racing: Celia Willison, Paige Cook, Charlotte Porter, Alison Kent & Zoe Dawson
Optimist (overall and male): George Lee Rush
Optimist (female): Amelia Angus
P Class - Tanner Cup: Blake Hinsley
P Class - Tauranga Cup (overall and male): Sean Kensington
P Class - Tauranga Cup (female): Stella Bilger
Paper Tiger: Derek Scott
PHRF Division A: Satellite Spy - Matt Kerr
PHRF Division B: Danger Zone - Simon Liddell
R Class: Paul Roe & Malcolm Snowdon
RS Feva: Blake Hinsley & Nicholas Drummond
RS:X (male): Kiran Badloe (NED)
RS:X (female): Hongmei Shi (CHN)
Secondary School Keelboats: Westlake Boys High School
Secondary School Team Sailing: Rangitoto College
Starling (overall and male): Sean Herbert
Starling (female): Ella Gladwell
Starling Match Racing: Harry Edwards
Sunburst: Cameron Brown & Andrew Brown
Tornado: Rex Sellers & Brett Sellars
Waszp: Seb Menzies
Womens Keelboat: Sally Garrett, Jenny Price, Sarah Ell, Emma Stenhouse, Alison Kent, Christine Weston & Sara Winther
Young 88: Andrew Wills and crew
Zephyr: Helgard Dannhauser

There are criteria that must be met for a regatta to be approved as the class national championship and the winner to be recognised by Yachting New Zealand. This includes a minimum number of competitors. Gender winners are recognised if there are more than six boats of that gender within the regatta.

If you have any queries regarding this list, please contact Danika at Yachting New Zealand, or (09) 361 4028.


  • Photo: WASZP New Zealand