Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu

Kiwi eSailors took slick for the Aussies

Issue date

The Kiwis proved too strong again, taking out the VMG Trans-Tasman eSailing Championships on Sunday night.

The New Zealand team of Tom Pilkington (RNZYS), Matt Blakey (Tamaki Yacht Club), Aidan Gordon (Wakatipu Yacht Club), Flinn Olson (Murrays Bay Sailing Club), Justin Mitchell (Wakatere Boating Club) and Jordan Vermeulen (Bluff Yacht Club) beat some of Australia's best eSailors to retain the title they won last year. 

Pilkington finished on top of the individual standings, backing up his performance from the previous week when he took out the VMG New Zealand eSailing Challenge, and contributing to the team result. The top five scores from each country counted to the overall result.

The racing was live streamed on the Yachting New Zealand Facebook page, with commentary from broadcaster Jess Tuke, and can be found here.

Special thanks to VMG Clothing, who provided a $1000 voucher to the winning team. They also put up a $500 voucher for the winner of the New Zealand challenge plus another $500 voucher for the club of the winning sailor.