Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu
Peter Blake Regatta

Hundreds to race at Peter Blake Regatta

Issue date

A pretty big event is about to get under way in Auckland but an equally sizeable one starts across town on Saturday.

The Sir Peter Blake Regatta at the Torbay Sailing Club has become one of the world's largest centreboard regattas over the last 18 years ago and this year organisers have limited it to junior and youth classes - Optimist, P Class, O’Pen Skiff, Starling, Laser Radial, Laser 4.7, RS Feva, 29er, 420, Nacra 15 and RSX 8.5.

Close to 400 youngsters will still line up when racing gets under way on Saturday morning. For many, the Sir Peter Blake Regatta is the first major regatta they have participated in and that's highlighted by the fact the Optimist green fleet is usually the largest of all the classes and has more than 100 entries.

Others, though, will want to get their name on the Sir Peter Blake Memorial Trophy, which is awarded to the outstanding sailor of the weekend. Past winners include Peter Burling (2005), Jo Aleh (2004), Sam Meech (2006) and Josh Armit (2015) and last year Olivia Christie took home the main prize.

The main objective of the regatta, though, is fun and learn more about Sir Peter Blake’s life, his values and his passion for sailing. The regatta it is always held over the first weekend of December with the blessing of the Sir Peter Blake Trust.

Olympic silver medallists Alex Maloney and Molly Meech will be on hand for Sunday's prizegiving before they whip across town for the opening ceremony of the Hyundai 49er, 49erFX and Nacra 17 world championships.

Entries are still open and Volvo are giving people the chance to drive a brand new Volvo for a week by entering at the Volvo tent.

Sir Peter Blake Memorial Trophy honours list

2018: Olivia Christie
2017: Josh Hyde & Caleb Armit
2016: Sean Herbert
2015: Josh Armit
2014: Scott McKenzie
2013: Jackson Keon
2012: Nick Egnot Johnson
2011: Markus Somerville
2010: Jayvee Buchanen
2009: Jayvee Buchanen
2008: Scott Barnes
2007: Sara Winther
2006: Sam Meech
2005: Peter Burling
2004: Jo Aleh
2003: Daniel Willcox
2002: Marco Grael