Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu

Blake Inspire for Sailors: Meet the class of 2023

Issue date

A group of young Kiwis will next week take inspiration from one of the proudest moments from New Zealand's sailing past to help in their efforts to create a more sustainable future.

The third Blake Inspire for Sailors programme gets under way on Monday when 21 emerging sailors gather for a five-day environmental leadership development adventure.

The programme is a collaboration between Blake NZ and Yachting New Zealand and focuses on the environment and the haste with which we need to act to minimise the impact of climate change.

The participants will spend two-and-a-half days on board Steinlager 2, the boat made famous by Sir Peter Blake in winning the Whitbread Round the World Race, with visits to Tiritiri Matangi, one of New Zealand’s oldest island sanctuaries, and other special places within Auckland's Hauraki Gulf.

Back on shore, there will be opportunities to meet members of Emirates Team New Zealand, High Performance Sport NZ, and leading environmental scientists and engineers. 

Yachting New Zealand national sport development director Raynor Haagh said the programme is an opportunity for young sailors to better understand the crisis facing our environment and to develop the tools to lead change at their local clubs and in their communities.

"These young sailors are our future leaders and we have seen a number of Blake Inspire for Sailors participants from previous years go on to make a meaningful impact at their clubs," Haagh said.

"We have been really impressed with the quality of applicants and it is good to see a diverse group of young people from across the country being represented at this year’s programme."

The 2023 Blake Inspire for Sailors participants are:

Holly Patterson, Whangārei Cruising Club

Lucy Ingham, Sandspit Yacht Club

Amelie Adair, Muritai Yacht Club

Alice Aastroem, Whangārei Cruising Club

Benjamin Coubrough, Heretaunga Boating Club

Emma  Drinkwater, Ngaroto Sailing Club

Harris  Coubrough, Heretaunga Boating Club

Mukai  Duder, Devonport Yacht Club

Cameron Jones, Waimakariri Sailing Club

Natalie Mitchell, Nelson Yacht Club

Ora Mead, Worser Bay Boating Club

Jayden Murdie, Gulf Harbour Yacht Club

Zoe Chambers, Howick Sailing Club

Thomas Bil, New Plymouth Yacht Club

Kiani Christie, Whangārei Cruising Club

Eoin McGlynn, Wakatipu Yacht Club

Bohemia Sanders, Nelson Yacht Club

Edward Gravit, Point Chevalier Sailing Club

Lucy Blyth, Howick Sailing Club

Kheesa Rahman, Cambridge Yacht Club

Rachel Croft, Naval Point Yacht Club