Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu

Royal Akarana Yacht Club

RAYC Logo

Established in 1895, Royal Akarana Yacht Club is one of New Zealand’s oldest and most accomplished yachts clubs in both keel boat and dinghy sailing classes.

It is considered the home of blue water sailing and hosts an array of other marine-based activities including a successful Sailing Academy for kids and adults which has created world champion sailors. 

The new Hyundai Marine Sports Centre is opening Spring 2018 and provides purpose built sailing, marine sports, marine education and hospitality facilities including a waterfront cafe and bar. 

The Club sails and caters for Optimists, Open BIC, RS Feva, 420, 12ft skiff, 18ft Skiff, A-Class, 29er, 49er, and Flying Fifteen classes.  Keelboats are accommodated in racing and cruising divisions with an emphasis on passage, coastal and offshore events.   

Visit us at The Landing, Okahu Bay, 10 minutes from downtown Auckland or check us out at www.rayc.co.nz.  See you soon.   

Boats available for hire: Platu


 

Services:
Hire a boat,
Inclusive sailing,
Learn to sail - Dinghy (Adults),
Learn to sail - Dinghy (Children),
Learn to sail - Keelboat
Region:
Auckland
Usual Sailing Waters:
Waitemata - Tamaki
Phone number:
Physical Address:

The Landing, 8-10 Tamaki Drive
Okahu Bay
AUCKLAND 1071
New Zealand

-36.8497622, 174.810384

Postal Address:

PO Box 42004
Orakei
AUCKLAND 1745
New Zealand

Committee/Staff
Name:
Andrew Brookland
Role:
Facility Manager
Email:
andrew@amst.co.nz
Mobile:
Name:
Rod Davis
Role:
Sailing Manager
Email:
rod@rayc.co.nz
Mobile:
Name:
John East
Role:
Manager
Email:
john@rayc.co.nz
Mobile:
Name:
Nick Hanson
Role:
Vice Commodore
Email:
vicecommodore@rayc.co.nz
Mobile:
Name:
Nic Finlayson
Role:
Racing Secretary
Email:
sailing@rayc.co.nz
Mobile:
Name:
Matthew Woodley
Role:
Commodore
Email:
commodore@rayc.co.nz
Mobile:
Name:
Suellen Hurling
Role:
Publicity/Comms Officer
Email:
suellen@rayc.co.nz
Mobile:
Name:
Shelley Liefting
Role:
Coach/Instructor,
Learn To Sail Coordinator
Email:
academy@rayc.co.nz
Mobile:

Upcoming events at this club

  • 2019 49er, 49erFX and Nacra 17 World Championship

    Regatta
    Royal Akarana Yacht Club
    Event date:
    -

    2019 49er, 49erFX and Nacra 17 World Championship
    29th November -  8 December 

    Royal Akarana Yacht Club, Auckland, New Zealand

    Schedule of events:

  • 2020 49er/49er FX National Championships

    Regatta
    Royal Akarana Yacht Club
    Event date:
    -

    2020 49er/49er FX National Championships
    27th - 29th March 

    Royal Akarana Yacht Club

    Notice of race to come...