Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu
Excellence Awards

Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards

Excellence Awards

The Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards recognise excellence in sailing, from Optimists through to offshore boats. This country has produced, and continues to produce, some outstanding sailors who have achieved some amazing feats on the world stage. Previous winners of the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy for the Sailor of the Year include Sir Peter Blake, Barbara Kendall, Peter Burling and Blair Tuke, Sir Russell Coutts, Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie, Bruce Farr, and Emirates Team New Zealand. But the annual Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards, which features a gala dinner, are also an opportunity to recognise achievements at local and club level and there are many who do so much to make these places special. 

The following award categories are recognised;

  • Orbit World Travel Sailor of the Year Award for the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy
  • Zhik Male Sailor of the Year Award (new)
  • Zhik Female Sailor of the Year Award (new)
  • Volvo Young Male Sailor of the Year Award (new)
  • Volvo Young Female Sailor of the Year Award (new)
  • Yachting New Zealand Coach of the Year
  • Yachting New Zealand Official of the Year
  • Aon Emerging Talent Award
  • Lawson's Dry Hills President's Award
  • Lucke Young Leader Award 
  • North Sails Sportsmanship Award 
  • Propspeed Sustainability Award 
  • Yachting New Zealand Service Awards - supported by Boating New Zealand
  • Yachting New Zealand Performance Awards - supported by Zhik
  • Yachting New Zealand Youth Performance Awards - supported by Harken
  • Yachting New Zealand Cruising Awards - supported by Wichard by Kiwi Yachting

The criteria for each award is detailed Here

You can find a list of winners from previous years on the Roll of Honour.

2020 Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards

The 2020 Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards will be hosted at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron on the 20th November, where we will celebrate the achievements of the past year and the volunteers and support staff that make success possible at all levels of the sport. 

Nominations for the 
2020 Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards have now closed.

Congratulations to our 2020 Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards Winners!
Click here to read all about it

Ticket Sales
Tickets are now available for the 2020 Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards Gala Dinner.
Tickets include entry to the event, a three course dinner & drinks (beer, wine and soft drinks)

Ticket Prices:
Single ticket - $130
Table of 10 - $1200
Awardee ticket - $70

Click here to purchase your ticket


Please contact Monique de Sousa for any inquiries regarding the event or possible sponsorship opportunities.

Sponsor Strip Final