Back to top anchor
Close main menu
Open main menu Close main menu

Aon Yachting Excellence Awards

Aon Yachting Excellence Awards logo

The Aon Yachting Excellence Awards recognise excellence in sailing, from Optimists through to offshore boats. This country has produced, and continues to produce, some outstanding sailors who have achieved some amazing feats on the world stage. Previous winners of the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy for the Sailor of the Year include Sir Peter Blake, Barbara Kendall, Peter Burling and Blair Tuke, Sir Russell Coutts, Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie, Bruce Farr, and Emirates Team New Zealand. But the annual Aon Yachting Excellence Awards, which features a gala dinner, are also an opportunity to recognise achievements at local and club level and there are many who do so much to make these places special. 

This year’s event will be presented at a gala dinner at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron on November 24, 2023 with tickets going on sale from September 22.

Nominations for this year's event have now closed.

The following award categories are recognised in 2023;

For a list of all previous award recipients, take a look at our Roll of Honour.

For more information or assistance, please contact Angela Jordan at