





WESTHAVEN TRIPLE SERIES

The Organising Authorities are the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, Ponsonby Cruising Club, Richmond Yacht Club 181 Westhaven Drive, Westhaven, Auckland 1011 Tel: 09 360 6800 | VHF: CH 17

1 RULES

- 1.1 The Race will be governed by the Rules as defined in the 2017 2020 Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS).
- 1.2 The Yachting New Zealand Safety Regulations (as below) shall apply:
 - a) Part II Category 4 shall apply for keel boats and multihulls. For races 2 & 4 all boats shall carry an inflatable dinghy (fully inflated), a rigid dinghy or a life raft.
 - b) Part VII shall apply for sport multihulls.
- 1.3 Racing Rule 52 'Manual Power' shall not apply.

2 SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

The Sailing Instructions for each event will be issued by the club responsible for each Race (as set out in the schedule below). All applicable Sailing Instructions for the races will be posted on all club websites by Monday 1st October 2018.

3 ELIGIBILITY

3.1 This is an open event, for members of any yacht club, the series is open to all keel boats and multihulls that meet the requirements below;

3.2	<u>Division</u>	Requirements	Fla <u>g</u>
	A	Open 0.860-1.00>	BLUE/YELLOW
	В	Open 0.800-0.850	WHITE
	С	Open 0.740 -0.800	GREEN/YELLOW
	D	Open - 0.740	PURPLE
	Е	Non-Spinnaker	BLACK/WHITE
	M	Multihull	GREEN

3.3 For Div E - No spinnakers or extras may be set. Extras are defined as sails not normally used to advantage to windward. Headsails may be boomed out using spinnaker booms but shall only be carried on a permanent load bearing forestay with only one headsail per forestay.

4 ENTRY AND FEES

- 4.1 Eligible boats may enter by completing an entry form online at rnzys.org.nz, a non-refundable entry fee shall be paid prior to racing:

 Series entry fee: \$90 | Casual race entry fee: \$30
 - Please note; RYC Sailpass holders and RNZYS Commodores Cup Series entrants will have already paid this series fee as part of package deals.
- 4.2 Yachts wishing to sail under PHRF handicap must ensure that they have selected this on their entry and supplied their current PHRF registration no.

5 SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

5.1 The scheduled time of the warning signal for the first division is listed below. The start times of each division will be in the SSI.

<u>Race</u>	<u>Date</u>	<u>Location</u>	<u>Warning Signal</u>	<u>OA</u>	<u>Social</u>
1	Sat 10th Nov	Round Rangitoto	0955	PCC	PCC clubrooms
2	Fri 15th Feb	Night race to Kawau	1755	RNZYS	Lidgard house – Kawau Island (Sat)
3	Sat 13th April	Haystack	0955	RYC	RYC Clubrooms

6 RACING AREA & COURSES

The races will be held within the Waitemata Harbour and Hauraki Gulf. The WTS (Westhaven Triple Series) courses to be sailed will be harbour courses as listed in Addendum A, accompanying this NOR.

7 SCORING

- 7.1 The races shall be scored as per RRS Appendix A using the Low Point system.
- 7.2 Two (2) races will be required to constitute a series.
- 7.3 Series Scores; only series entrants will be eligible for series scores. All races will count toward the series score.

8 PRIZES

Series prizes will be awarded for line honours and for first, second and third on general handicap and PHRF overall in each division at the series prize giving on Saturday April 13th.

9 RADIO COMMUNICATION

As a safety requirement, all boats must have a VHF Radio on deck on channel 17 at all times while racing.

10 INSURANCE

Each participating boat shall be insured with valid third-party liability insurance with a minimum cover of \$5,000,000 per incident or the equivalent.

11 DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

All those taking part in OA races or any other sailing events controlled by the OA, as between the OA and each of those so taking part, do so at their own risk and responsibility and the OA and any sponsor associated with this event has no liability for any damage, loss or any penalty suffered by any boat crew or any other person taking part in such events. The OA and any sponsor associated with this event shall not be responsible for the sea-worthiness of a boat whose entry is accepted and/or the sufficiency and/or adequacy of its equipment or the competence of its skipper or crew. The OA reserves the right in its sole and uncontrolled discretion to refuse any entry.

Addendum A

ROUND RANGITOTO RACE COURSES (PCC)

Course Approx.

	No	Divisions	Course and Mark Roundings	
	1	A, N M	Start – Round Rangitoto, Motutapu & Orarapa (Haystack) Islands either Port (P) or Starboard (S) – Torpedo (P) - Finish	27.5
	BCED	Start – Round Rangitoto & Motutapu Islands either Port (P) or Starboard (S) - Torpedo (P) - Finish	23	

NIGHT RACE TO KAWAU ISLAND COURSES (RNZYS)

Course

Approx.

No	Divisions	Course and Mark Roundings	NMs.
1	ALL	Start – Whangaparoa Outermost Yellow buoy (P)- Motuketekete Island (P) – Passage Reef (S) – Finish between Momona Point and a Race Committee Boat displaying an amber flashing light moored to the west of Momona Point	26

HAYSTACK COURSES (RYC)

Course

Approx.

No	Divisions	Course and Mark Roundings	
1	ANM	Start –Gulf Harbour Buoy (S) – Orarapa (Haystack) (S) – Bean Rock Buoy (S) – Finish	
_	All Others	Start –Orapapa (Haystack) (S) – Bean Rock Buoy (S) – Finish	35
2	A&M	Start– Orarapa (Haystack) (P) – Gulf Harbour (P) – Bean Rock Buoy (S) – Finish	40
	All Others	Start –Orarapa (Haystack) (P) – Bean Rock Buoy (S) – Finish	35

THESE COURSES ARE TO BE READ IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE RELEVANT NOTICE OF RACE & SAILING INSTRUCTIONS