

2019 Paper Tiger National Championships and International Selection Trials

8th – 12th January 2019

Notice of Race

The Organising Authority is the Evans Bay Yacht and Motor Boat Club (EBYMBC)

447 Evans Bay Parade | PO Box 14496, Kilbirnie, Wellington 6241

1. Rules

- 1.1. The regatta will be governed by the 'rules' as defined in the Racing Rules of Sailing ("RRS") and the New Zealand Paper Tiger Class.
- 1.2. The Yachting New Zealand Safety Regulations Part 1 shall apply.
- 1.3. Appendix T shall apply.
- 2. Advertising
 - 2.1 Boats may be required to display advertising chosen and supplied by the Organising Authority.
- 3. Eligibility and Entry
 - 3.1. The regatta is open to all members of the New Zealand Paper Tigers Owners Association (NZPTOA) who are members of a yacht club affiliated to Yachting New Zealand.
 - 3.2. Eligible skippers may enter by completing the attached for and either
 - (a) sending it, together with the required fee to:

The Organising Committee 2019 Paper Tiger Nationals PO Box 14496, Kilbirne Wellington 6241

- or
- (b) emailing it to:

generalmanager@ebymbc.org.nz

and depositing the required fee into the Westpac Bank (Lambton Quay Branch) Account number: 03-0502-0588510-00 Reference: PT 2019 – Sail Number – Helms surname Eq: PT 2019 – 3303 – Smith

by Friday 14th December 2018.

3.3. Late entries, accompanied by the late entry fee may be accepted at the Race Committee's discretion until 1000hrs on Wednesday 9th January 2019.

4. Fees

- 4.1. The entry fee is \$175.00 (includes prize giving dinner ticket).
- 4.2. The late fee is \$225.00 (includes prize giving dinner ticket).

5. Schedule

5.1. Measurement and Inspection

	Tuesday 8 th January 2019	1300 - 1700hrs	EBYMBC
5.2.	Registration		
	Tuesday 8 th January 2019	1500 – 1700hrs	EBYMBC
	Wednesday 9 th January 2019	0900 – 0930hrs	EBYMBC

5.3. Briefing

The briefing is scheduled for 1800 on Tuesday 8th January 2019 in the EBYMBC

5.4. Dates of Racing

Wednesday 9 th January	Race Day 1	1 st Warning Signal: 1055	3 Races
Thursday 10 th January	Race Day 2	1 st Warning Signal: 1025	3 Races
Friday 11 th January	Race Day 3	1 st Warning Signal: 1025	3 Races
Saturday 12 th January	Race Day 4	1 st Warning Signal: 1025	2 Races

5.5. Number of Races

- (a) 11 Races are scheduled for the series.
- (b) Up to 4 races may be sailed per day.
- (c) On Saturday 12th January no warning signal will be made after 1400hrs

6. Measurement

- 6.1. All boats must comply with the rules of the New Zealand Paper Tiger Class.
- 6.2. Boats that were measured and passed at either the 2018 New Zealand Paper Tiger Nationals or the 2018 Paper Tiger Internationals will not need to be re-measured for the 2019 New Zealand Paper Tiger Nationals with the following provisions:
 - 6.2.1 Skippers shall complete and sign a formal declaration (form to be provided at registration) stating that no changes have been made to their Paper Tiger (including hulls/platform, sail and mast) since its previous measurement in 2018.
 - 6.2.3 That all hull platforms that weighed in at less than 52kg in 2018 must submit their hulls for reweighing.
- 6.3 All equipment that was not measured and passed at the 2018 Paper Tiger Nationals or 2018 Paper Tiger Internationals must be measured for the 2019 Paper Tiger Nationals.
- 6.4 Any equipment previously measured that has been modified must be re-measured.
- 6.5 The class measurer may direct any competing Paper Tiger be measured at any time during the measurement time or during the contest.
- 6.6 All beach trailers/trolleys must have boat names and numbers clearly marked on them.
- 6.7 A safety declaration is to be completed at registration. Note: a safety check may be made on any boat at any time during the event.

7. Sailing Instructions

7.1. The Sailing Instructions will be available at the time of Registration. The Sailing Instructions may also be posted on the NZPTOA and/or EBYMBC website prior to registration.

8. Venue

- 8.1. Attachment A shows the location of the regatta venue.
- 8.2. The Racing area is the waters known as Evans Bay and Wellington Harbour.

9. Courses to be Sailed

- 9.1. The courses to be sailed will be triangular courses including windward, reaching and leeward marks.
- 9.2. The target time for each race will be 40 minutes for the leading boat.

10. Penalty System

10.1. Rule 44.1 and 44.2 are changed so that the 'Two-Turns' penalty is replaced by the 'One-Turn' Penalty.

11. Scoring

- 11.1. 5 races are required to be completed to constitute a series.
- 11.2. When fewer than 6 races have been completed, a boat's series score will the total of her race scores.
- 11.3. When from 6 to 9 races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her worst score.
- 11.4. When 10 or more races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her 2 worse scores.

12. Launching

12.1 Unless otherwise directed by the Organising Authority, all competing boats and equipment shall be launched and retrieved from the ramps in front of the EBYMBC, or at the public ramp to the south of the club.

13. Coaching and Support Boats

13.1. Support boats are not allowed.

14. Radio Communication

14.1. Except in an emergency, a boat shall neither make radio transmissions while racing nor receive radio communications not available to all boats. This restriction also applies to mobile telephones.

15. Prizes

15.1. Prizes will be awarded as follows:

- A Division: 1st, 2nd, 3rd.
- B Division: 1st, 2nd, 3rd
- C Division: 1st, 2nd, 3rd.
- 1st.Female skipper
- 1st place in the following Age groups:
 - o Junior
 - o Veteran
 - o Grand master
 - o Great Grand master
 - o Legends
- Most improved since previous Nationals sailed
- 15.2. Other prizes may be awarded at the discretion of the NZPTOA or the Organising Authority.

16. Disclaimer of Liability

16.1. Competitors participate in all races entirely at their own risk. Refer to RRS rule 4. The Organising Authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with, prior to, during, or after the race.

17. Further Information

For further information please contact:

Ryan (Rowdy) Leatham

General Manager, EBYMBC

Phone: (04) 939 4167

Email: generalmanager@ebymbc.org.nz

Web: www.ebymbc.org.nz

Attachment A – Regatta Venue

