Wakatere pair win 420 national championships


Robbie McCutcheon and Jono Weston from Wakatere Boating Club won the 2017 420 national championships at Evans Bay Yacht & Motor Boat Club in Wellington recently.

(Robbie McCutcheon and Jono Weston on their way to winning the 420 national championships. Photo: Irinia Winsley)

The regatta saw a strong fleet of 18 boats compete over four days in breezes ranging from 0 to 25 knots, largely from the south, which provided for some great sailing and spectating. As one parent mentioned, it’s not often you can walk up and down a footpath the length of the course alongside the sailors.

The event comprised both the national championships as well as the open world team selection trials for 2017, which will be held in Fremantle, Australia, later this year. 

Eight of the 18 teams were full female crews, showing the strength of the 420 class in New Zealand. The female category was taken out by Xanthe Copeland (Wakatere) and Annabel Cave (Murrays Bay Sailing Club).

Open results:
1st Robbie McCutcheon and Jono Weston (Wakatere)
2nd Xanthe Copeland and Annabel Cave (Wakatere/Murrays Bay)
3rd Zac Schiewe and Ben Baynes (Naval Point/Charteris Bay)

Female results:
1st Xanthe Copeland and Annabel Cave (Wakatere/Murrays Bay)
2nd Ella Gladwell and Alice Haslett (Wakatere)
3rd Cara Higinbottom and Jessica Lee (Naval Point)

17 Mar 2017
20 Mar 2017