Kerikeri High win Harken Schools Regatta


​The battle for the 2017 Harken School Regatta came down to the last race and in the end Kerikeri High School emerged winners by a single point.

(The Kerikeri High School team in action)

The team, helmed by Frankie Dair and his crew of Alice Autet, Jack Dalbeth-Hudson and Jack Bunce, beat off fierce competition from the other nine teams in tough and immensely close racing in Auckland over the weekend.

Just one point back was Marlborough College, skippered by Ali Gifford and his crew of Lolo Adams, Toby Gregory and Nick Williams, and only one point further behind was was Tom Fyfe from Westlake Boys High School and his crew of Blake Nicholson, Harry Milne and Matt Jacobi.

Not far behind in fourth was Selwyn College skippered by Harry Butler and Rosmini College skippered by Francesco Kayrouz in fifth overall.

“The racing today was very close," youth training programme coach Guy Pilkington said. "It was anybody’s regatta to win going in to the last race“.

The gold fleet were able to complete the full five scheduled races, despite conditions earlier in the morning not looking very promising. 

The silver fleet was won by Glendowie College, skippered by Jonathan Turnbull and his crew of Claude McKeogh, Sam Liddell and Matthew Brewer, but only one race was completed due to light winds.

Harken School Regatta

Gold fleet

1. Kerikeri High School red (19 points)

2. Marlborough College (20)

3. Westlake Boys High School (21)

4. Selwyn College (25)

5. Rosmini College (26)

6. Kristin School (28)

7. Auckland Grammar (28)

8. Takapuna Grammar (37)

9. Kings College (37)

10. Whangarei Boys High School (38)

Silver fleet

1. Gledowie College (1 point)

2. Kristin School (2)

3. Bay of Islands Combined (3)

4. St. Kentigern College 2 (4)

5. Mahurangi College (8)

6. St. Kentigern College 1 (8)

7. Kerikeri High School blue (8)

(Kerikeri High School)

20 Mar 2017
21 Mar 2017