Title sponsor revealed for 2016 AON Youth Sailing World Champs

by Yachting New Zealand

Yachting New Zealand are very pleased to announce that Aon New Zealand will be title sponsor for up-coming 2016 Aon Youth Sailing World Championships being hosted in New Zealand.

CEO of Aon New Zealand, Geoff Blampied said, “We congratulate Yachting New Zealand for securing the opportunity to bring this prestigious regatta to New Zealand. We are proud to support the event.  We wish organisers and sailors all the very best for when the event is held in Auckland later on this year.”

Aon New Zealand and Yachting New Zealand have a strong existing alliance and Blampied says that they are delighted to have this opportunity to expand on that.

“For some years now, Aon has been sponsoring Yachting New Zealand’s Aon Fast Track programme and we see our sponsorship of the 2016 Aon Youth Sailing World Championship as an extension of that partnership.”

Yachting New Zealand Chief Executive David Abercrombie acknowledged that having the support of Aon New Zealand was an important factor in the success of New Zealand’s bid to host the major international event.

“Yachting New Zealand really values the partnership that exists between Aon New Zealand and our organisation and we appreciate their faith in us to deliver an event of this magnitude,” said Abercrombie.

“Youth sailing is important to both of us and Aon New Zealand has a long-term approach to supporting young people and helping develop better New Zealanders.”

Aon New Zealand also congratulated the NZL Sailing Team on their success at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

“We wish to congratulate Yachting New Zealand on their recent success in Rio.  Outstanding performances by Peter Burling and Blair Tuke winning gold; Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie, and Alexandra Maloney and Molly Meech with silver; and bronze from Sam Meech. These sailors are brilliant role models to New Zealand’s up-and-coming talent in the sport.”

About the Youth Worlds

The Youth Worlds was first held in Sweden in 1971. The 2016 Youth Sailing World Championships in Auckland, New Zealand will be the 46th edition of the championship.

Past notable winners include American's Cup skippers, Chris Dickson (NZL), Russell Coutts (NZL), Dean Barker (NZL); Olympic medallists, Nathan Outteridge (AUS), Iain Jensen (AUS), Robert Scheidt (BRA), Amelie Lux (GER), Ben Ainslie (GBR), Iain Percy (GBR), Alessandra Sensini (ITA), Elise Rechichi (AUS) and Tessa Parkinson (AUS); Volvo Ocean Race sailors like Stuart Bannatyne (NZL) and Richard Clarke (CAN). The most successful Youth World Champions are Great Britain's Sally Cuthbert and Poland's Zofia Klepacka having won four successive titles in the Laser II and Mistral respectively.

Australia is the current holder of the Nations Trophy, awarded annually to the top performing nation at the Youth Worlds. France is the most success nation through the history of the Championship, winning the Nations Trophy on a record eleven occasions and holding a record 76 medals: 28 gold, 30 silver and 18 bronze.

For more information contact:

Jodie Bakewell-White
Yachting New Zealand Communications Manager
Tel. 021 709 065
Email. Jodie@yachtingnz.org.nz


05 Oct 2016
05 Oct 2016