NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team

The Youth Sailing World Championships

New Zealand has a proud history of success at the Youth Sailing World Championships, having won a total of 51 medals including 16 gold, 18 silver and 17 bronze dating back to the first event in Sweden 1971. This year’s team will be looking to increase that tally in Corpus Christi.

Past notable winners include America's Cup skippers, Olympic medallists and Volvo Ocean Race sailors including Alex Maloney, Blair Tuke, Chris Dickson, Russell Coutts, Dean Barker and Stuart Bannatyne.

The team are proudly supported by the NZL Sailing Foundation (previously known as the NZL Yachting Trust), Oceanbridge, Zhik and HPSNZ.


The 2018 Youth Sailing World Championships were held in Corpus Christi on July 14-21. The prestigious international event sees national teams from around the world gather for a week-long regatta for youth class sailors under 19 years of age.

2018 NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team results - click here to read the full media release.

Gold        Josh Armit, 16 years, boy's Laser Radial
Silver     Veerle ten Have, 17 years, girl's RS:X 8.5
Silver     Seb Lardies, 17 years  / Scott McKenzie, 18 years, boy's 29er
Bronze  Greta Stewart, 17 years  / Tom Fyfe, 18 years, Nacra 15
5th         Seb Menzies, 13 years / Blake McGlashan, 15 years, boy's 420
12th        Max Van der Zalm, 18 years, boy's RS:X 8.5
14th       Sophia Fyfe, 15 years  / Alice Haslett, 16 years, girl's 29er
16th       Cara Higinbottom, 17 years / Alice Floyd, 16 years, girl's 420
20th        Samantha Stock, 16 years, girl's Laser Radial 

Sailor profiles for the 2018 NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team can be found here.