NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team

The 2017 Youth World Sailing Championships will be held in Sanya, China from the 9th - 16th December 2017. Click here to read the Yachting New Zealand Selection Regulation for 2017.


A team of 13 sailors competed at the 2016 Aon Youth World Sailing Championships, which ran from 14 December to 20 December 2016 in Auckland, New Zealand.

The prestigious international event sees national teams from around the world gather together for a week long regatta for youth class sailors under-19 years of age. New Zealand was represented in eight of the nine events being contested in 2016.

Click here for the Teams results


2016 NZL Yachting Trust Youth Team 

Olivia Christie, 17 years (Worser Bay Boating Club) Laser Radial Girls
George Gautrey, 18 years (Muritai Yacht Club) Laser Radial Boys
Patrick Haybittle, 17 years (RNZYS and Murrays Bay Sailing club) RS:X Boys
Greta Stewart, 16 years (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) 29er Girls Skipper
Kate Stewart , 18 years (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) 29er Girls Crew
Francesco Kayrouz, 13 years (Murrays Bay Sailing Club and Wakatere Boating Club) 29er Boys Skipper
Oscar Gunn, 17 years (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) 29er Boys Crew
Josh Berry, 15 years (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) 420 Boys Skipper  
Henry Haslett, 17 years (Wakatere Boating Club) 420 Boys Crew
Courtney Reynolds-Smith, 16 years (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) 420 Girls Skipper                 
Brianna Reynolds-Smith, 16 years (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) 420 Girls Crew             
Jackson Keon, 16 years (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) Multihull Skipper
Tom Fyfe, 16 years (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) Multihull Crew   

Read the Team annoucement here.


About the World Sailing Youth World Championships

New Zealand has a proud history of success at the World Sailing Youth Worlds which dates back to 1971. Over the history of the event kiwis have returned home with a total of 51 medals including 16 Gold, 18 Silver and 17 Bronze, and this year’s team will be looking to increase that tally.
The World Sailing Youth Worlds was first held in Sweden in 1971. The 2017 Youth Sailing World Championship in Sanya, China will be the 47th Championship.
Past notable winners include Americas Cup skippers, Olympic Medallists and Volvo Ocean Race sailors such as, Alex Maloney, Blair Tuke, Chris Dickson , Russell Coutts, Dean Barker, Stuart Bannatyne.
Proudly supported by the NZL Sailing Foundation (previously known as the NZL Yachting Trust) , Oceanbridge, Zhik and HPSNZ.